Pierre Hermé

For a long time there has been one question I was eager to answer for myself: Pierre Hermé – is it worth the hype? 

Today, after a recent trip to Paris, I can definitively say: yes, yes and yes.

Despite a wait for about 20 to 30 minutes on a Friday late afternoon in front of the boutique in rue Bonaparte in Paris 6e and a hefty price tag (which is actually justified in my opinion considering the quality of the product), you won’t regret stepping into this tiny but heavenly boutique. Everything looks gorgeous so that you’ll have trouble deciding what to get. Pierre Hermé is famous for its macarons, but I’m not a big fan of macarons in general so I can’t comment on that.

I bought a patisserie that I ate straight away and some chocolate pralines to take home (to the pleasure of those waiting for me at home).

The “plaisir sucré” was simply divine, up to perfection in taste, freshness and quality of the ingredients and consistency (on the website they describe the patisserie as a “Dacquoise biscuit with crunchy hazelnuts, hazelnut crisp, thin wafers of milk chocolate, milk chocolate ganache and milk chocolate chantilly.  Milk chocolate is here highlighted by a variety of textures and sensations.” http://www.pierreherme.com/products/patisseries/plaisirs-sucres.html)

IMG_1287

The pralines were very, very good as well. You can choose from a few different box sizes, and then compose your box from the chocolates they have available at the store. I appreciate the fact that they have a limited but very well selected choice and that the flavors are not so extreme as some chocolatiers do. The flavors all still match very well together and also the textures are quite classic (mostly ganache). The flavors are delicate yet intense, the size of the praline is perfect (I don’t like those chunky inelegant chocolates with an outer chocolate shell where you almost need a knife to break it through).

IMG_1289

All in all I can only recommend taking the time to stop by. I am already looking forward to my next visit to Paris to try some more (on top of my list is a plain croissant, nothing can be as good as the perfect croissant!).

The website contains detailed information about all products and locations. There is also a shipping service available in France and the following European countries: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, and Sweden.

http://www.pierreherme.com

One thought on “Pierre Hermé

Leave a Reply

