Cathy Goedert

This is definitively the new hotspot for breakfast/lunch/brunch in Luxembourg. Located in rue Chimay, at a prime location, this pâtisserie opened just a few weeks ago by very young (she is in her mid twenties) pâtissière Cathy Goedert. 

The place wants to be posh and so it is. The interiors are white, sleek and modern.
Cathy Goedert is defintively ambitious, as she wants to do it all: pâtisserie, bread (following the famous recipe from Max Nosbusch in Vianden), gelateria, bar à tartines, chocolaterie, space for corporate clients etc. Being the daughter of a successful Luxembourgish entrepreneur has defintively had an influence here.

I am usually not very fond of very stylish places, that try a bit too hard, but I do have to say that I enjoyed the food I had. I tried several pâtisseries (that all come with very trendy names, not really to my liking), and they have all been delicious. The products used are of good quality and the savoir faire is for sure there. The tartelette au citron (or Citronella as they call it) was classic but faultless. The carrot cake was very yummy with a very good, not too sweet frosting, just how it should be. I also tried a wrap (prosciutto and mozzarella, although I ordered vegetarian, but oh well, I did not complain), which was nice (except for the massive, unattractive plate it came on).

The service was ok I guess, considering I was there the opening week.

All in all, I was very pleased by what was on the plate and lukewarm about everything around. I will certainly return to try some more.

They are also open on Sunday which is nice.

http://www.cathygoedert.lu/
8, rue Chimay, L-1333 Luxembourg
Tel +352 26 20 21 49

open Tue-Sun

IMG_0068

image

One thought on “Cathy Goedert

Leave a Reply

